Freedom from Gasoline

Let me begin today’s post by saying that the past three days have been rough, but I’ve had rougher. Aside from nearly ripping the gas attendant’s head off when he shorted me a nickel when giving back my change, I’ve remained rather chipper! My first day without coffee in who-knows-how-long, Friday, wasn’t pretty, as I found myself in a haze for much of the work day, unable to answer questions, forgetting my name in SEVERAL conversations, and getting into someone else’s car and driving three miles before realizing I don’t normally drive a Jeep Grand Cherokee, I drive a Ford Taurus (Also, who knew I DID NOT know how to hot wire a car? It’s still unclear how I pulled it off Friday.

Grand theft auto may or may not have happened on Friday, but one thing that’s certain is it’s been a downhill battle ever since. So far, so good.

Now, how about we talk about freedom from fear of economic trouble?

Since the oil catastrophe off the coast of Louisiana happened, everyone is concerned. About the families of the 11 workers who died, or the fact this has been declared an environmental disaster? Sure, that discussion is being had, too, “but what about the gas prices???”

As usual, I can’t say I’m not guilty of this. I know I have been involved in this conversation, and I’ve even started it a number of times. I’m not sure whether we talk about this because we are truly worried about it, or because it’s something to talk about, but words are cheap. If we are truly worried about it, we should do something, and if we aren’t worried about it, we should find something more uplifting or enjoyable to talk about. 

Plus, the weight of this is catastrophic, and certainly by the measure of economic loss, we must take note of how that will affect our nation’s well-being as a whole. But, the key here is to take ourselves outside of our situation and look at others’. 

When I hear the news I am hit with a multitude of emotions: feelings of grief for the citizens of Louisiana and nearby states, dissappointment in mankind for faulty work and our undying need for more and more, and sadness for the impending impact on wildlife. Those are all feelings that hit me, but the one that doesn’t rest well is the fear for my own pocketbook. “Great, this means gas will probably go back up to $4!”

As many in America, I may not feel I’m rich, but I most certainly am. While billions of people are dying from hunger across the world, I’m not that at all. In fact, whereas people are starving because they can’t buy or find food, I can buy and find food with great, great ease, but I choose not to eat because I don’t want to get fat.

How sad is that? If there is any economic recession due to this, Americans likely won’t be hurting within their budgets for lack of money for food, housing or electricity, but rather week-long vacations to exotic locations, payments for Cadillac Escalades, and tickets to see Bruce.

And if high gas prices really does put that sort of crunch into our budgets, maybe we should take a step back and wonder … are we too reliant on gas? Those that control gas in this country really have too much power.

 God has given me this blog after supplying freedom and insight into several areas of my life. We can experience freedom from this fear as well, as long as we take away the power it has on us. The more we depend on something, the more it has power over us. If gas prices suddenly shot up to $20 per gallon, I would have to quit my job tomorrow, and that scares me. It looks like I may need to consider other resources, too.

Leave a Reply

